Concerned students address Senate, FVP Ciccone presents on MUSG Budget, Senator Zach Wallace elected as LVP

At its meeting on Thursday, April 10, 2014, Marquette University Student Government Senate heard from two concerned students. Marguerite Biagi, a junior in the College of Arts & Sciences and president of Alpha Phi fraternity, advocated for MUSG’s support of Recommendation #11 Collegiate Housing and Infrastructure Act. Recommendation #11 would allow donations for collegiate housing to be tax deductible. Senior Ahlam Ayesh brought to Senate’s attention Marquette’s lack of policy to accommodate for religious holidays. Ayesh urged MUSG to pursue a policy that would allow students to be excused from class in order to observe religious holidays.

Financial Vice President Nick Ciccone then presented on the budget for fiscal year 2015. Revenue for the MUSG budget comes from the Student Activity Fee collected from all undergraduate students, program board excursions, senior week, and interest from the reserve fund. The budget is used for administrative expenses, programs and services, program board and Student Organization Funding. FVP Ciccone and the budget committee will go to each of the four Senate standing committees for opinions on the budget. Senate will vote on the budget at its April 24 meeting.

Senate then considered Resolution #6 Veto Override. Former MUSG President Sam Schultz vetoed legislation proposed by Program Vice President Ryan Twaddle to provide buses for students to Target next semester. This program would be funded by the MUSG reserve fund, which comes from unused student activity fees. Former President Schultz originally vetoed this legislation, seeing this program as unnecessary due to student’s possession of U-PASSes. Former President Schultz did not see the legislation as in line with Marquette’s Jesuit identity, which call us to live in community with others. After deliberation the Senate did not override the veto with the vote of 5-19-1.

The Senate deliberated on Recommendation #11 Collegiate Housing and Infrastructure act, presented on by concerned student Marguerite Biagi. Senate passed Recommendation #11 unanimously.

Senate accepted nominations for Legislative Vice President. Off-Campus Senator Nathan Craft nominated College of Arts & Sciences Senator Zack Wallace, who ran unopposed.

“Instead of sitting an office that seems exclusive, let’s go out to students and show them that we care,” Wallace said when asked about his ideas for improving Senate’s communication with students. The Senate approved Wallace unanimously.

Next, Senate moved to fill its two open academic seats on the SOF committee. Senate elected College of Engineering Senator Ricky Krajewski and College of Education Senator Amanda Stolz unanimously.

Additionally, the SOF committee had an open residential seat. Schroder Hall Senator Alexander Lech and McCormick Hall Senator Murphy Quill both ran for this position. After debate, Senate voted and, because four senators abstained, there was no majority achieved to elect a candidate. A second round of voting produced the same results. A third round of voting resulted in a tie 12-12-1. A fourth round of voting resulted in the election of Senator Lech to the SOF committee.

Moving to the consideration of Amendment #10 SOF Changes. Former MUSG Executive Vice President Zach Bowman presented the proposals in the amendment. This amendment would allow organization for funding in more then one period for different expenses examines MUSG policy on capital goods, clarifies allocations off-campus expenses in addition to other initiatives to improve the SOF process. After extensive deliberation,  the authors of the legislation withdrew the legislation from consideration. MUSG will keep students informed on future action taken to improve the SOF process.

Senate adjourned at 11:35 p.m.


MUSG Fall 2012 Election Results

Fall 2012 Student Election

MUSG Fall Election Certified Results

Election conducted Thursday, September 13, 2012

Results certified Friday, September 14, 2:00 pm

1,756 Voters

22.1% Voter Turnout 1

 Abbottsford Hall Senator – 146 Voters

                           Matthew Walker          81          55.5%

Kevin Cornell          65          44.5%

 Carpenter Tower Senator

                           Emily Pirkl                    100%

Cobeen Hall Senator – 156 Voters

                           Emmaline Jurgena          91          100%

Commuter Senator

One Commuter Senator seat remains open and will be appointed by the Commuter Student Association or MUSG Legislative Vice President, in accordance with the MUSG Constitution. 

Mashuda Hall Senator – 67 Voters

                           Jacob Vildibill                    100%

McCabe Hall Senator

                           Jason Kurtyka                    100%

McCORMICK Hall Senator (2) – 191 Voters

                           Zack Wallace                    100%

One McCormick Hall Senator seat remains open and will be appointed by the McCormick Hall Council, in accordance with the MUSG Constitution.

O’Donnell Hall Senator – 53 Voters

                           Chris Steiner          28          52.8%

Tyler Thompson          25          47.2%

 Off-Campus Senator (7 SEATS) – 337 Voters

                           Joe Daufenbach          253          39.5%

                           Marisa Galvez              184          28.7%

                           Alison Libera               204          31.8%

Four Off-Campus Senator seats remain open and will be appointed by the MUSG Legislative Vice Preident, working closely with the Apartments Council, in accordance with the MUSG Constitution.

 Schroeder Hall Senator

                           Thomas Schick                    100%

 Straz Tower Senator – 121 Voters

Charlie Mau          58          47.9%

                           Tyler Tucky          63          52.1%


Election results certified by

David Kuester, MUSG Elections Coordinator

Jon Dooley, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean of Student Development and MUSG Advisor

Voter turnout of 22.1% of all eligible voters compares to fall election turnout of 14.6% in 2011, 17.8% in 2010, 10.9% in 2009, and 8.9% in Fall 2008).  This was the first time that Marquette Involvement Link was used to manage an online election.  The Fall 2010 election marked the first time that RHA, and the Hall and Apartments Councils conducted their elections using the same online ballot as MUSG, likely resulting in greater voter turnout starting that year.